An Evening with Senator Joseph and Hadassah lieberman

In Honor of Touro College's 50th Anniversary Celebration

Special evening with the Liebermans was held on March 31, 2022

View the event:


Event photos:

An Evening with the Liebermans


Bruce K. Gould Book Award

was presented to 

Senator Joseph Lieberman, author of The Centrist Solution: How We Made Government Work and Can Make It Work Again


was presented to

Hadassah Lieberman, author of Hadassah: An American Story

About the Bruce K. GOuld Book Award

The Bruce K. Gould Book Award is presented annually to the author of an outstanding publication related to the law, legal profession or legal system. The award is named for its benefactor Bruce K. Gould, an alumnus of Touro Law Center, class of 1984. Mr. Gould is a founding member and second president of Touro Law Center’s Alumni Association, an active member of Touro Law Center’s Board of Governors, was Chairman of the Law Center’s Capital Campaign Committee and in 1994, endowed the Law Center’s First Faculty Chair.

The award has become known as one of the most prestigious awards of its kind. Since 1993, it has been presented to many notable recipients.

Previous Bruce K. Gould Book Award Recipients:

  • 2021 Sen. Amy Klobuchar, Antitrust: Taking on Monopoly Power From the Gilded Age to the Digital Age
  • 2020 Thane Rosenbaum, Saving Free Speech...from Itself
  • 2019 John Grisham, The Rooster Bar
  • 2018 Bret Stephens, American in Retreat: The New Isolationism and the Coming Global Disorder
  • 2015 Michael B. Oren, Ally: My Journey Across the American-Israeli Divide
  • 2013 Justice Sonia Sotomayor, My Beloved World
  • 2011 Charles Fried & Gregory Fried, Because It Is Wrong
  • 2010 Kenneth Gormley, The Death of American Virtue: Clinton Vs. Starr
  • 2009 Bob Woodward, The War Within: A Secret White House History 2006 - 2008
  • 2008 Christopher J. Dodd, Letters from Nuremberg: My Father’s Narrative of a Quest for Justice
  • 2005 David Boies, Esq., Courting Justice:  From NY Yankees v. Major League Baseball to Bush v. Gore 1997-2000
  • 2004 Justice Sandra Day O'Connor, The Majesty of the Law: Reflections of a Supreme Court Justice
  • 2003 Stuart Eizenstat, Imperfect Justice: Looted Assets, Slave Labor and the Unfinished Business of World War II
  • 2002 Vernon E. Jordan, Jr., Vernon Can Read! A Memoir
  • 2001 Alan M. Dershowitz, The Genesis of Justice, Ten Stories of Biblical Injustice That Led to the Ten Commandments and Modern Law
  • 2000 Barry Scheck, Peter Neufeld, and Jim Dwyer, Actual Innocence: Five Days to Execution and Other Dispatches from the Wrongly Convicted 
  • 1999 Kenneth Gormley, Archibald Cox: Conscience of a Nation
  • 1998 Anita Hill, Speaking Truth to Power 
  • 1997 Robert L. Shapiro, The Search for Justice, A Defense Attorney's Brief on the O.J. Simpson Case
  • 1996 The Honorable Marvin E. Frankel, Faith and Freedom: Religious Liberty in America
  • 1995 Jack Greenberg, Crusaders in the Courts: How a Dedicated Band of Lawyers Fought for the Civil Rights Revolution
  • 1994 David Margolick, Undue Influence: The Epic Battle for the Johnson & Johnson Fortune
  • 1993 Telford Taylor, The Anatomy of the Nuremberg Trials
  • 1992 Patricia Williams, The Alchemy of Race and Rights: Diary of a Law Professor
  • 1991 The Honorable Daniel Patrick Moynihan, On the Law of Nations
  • 1991 Mordecai Rosenfeld, The Lament of the Single Practitioner-Essays on the Law

about the woman of valor award

The Woman of Valor Award recognizes extraordinary women whose life work has helped make significant improvements in people's lives. Touro University is honored to have previously presented the Woman of Valor Award to the late US Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg. The Lander College for Women exemplifies the distinguishing values of integrity, leadership, and commitment through its undergraduate education of Orthodox Jewish women.

Please direct any questions to