Distinguished Public Interest Lawyer in Residence Program 

Through this program, Touro Law Center recognizes attorneys who have made significant contributions to society by representation of individuals or groups historically denied access to justice. Honorees visit the Law Center to meet with students, guest teach classes and deliver a public lecture. The program attracts distinguished visitors who are active in the field of public interest who inspire and teach members of the Touro Law community. 

Past Public Interest Lawyer In Residence Recipients

  • 2015 Seymour W. James, Jr., Esq., The Attorney-in-Chief of The Legal Aid Society in New York City
  • 2013 Jonathan Rapping, Associate Professor of Law and Director of the Honors Program in Criminal Justice at Atlanta's John Marshall Law School    
  • 2012 James Moreno, Esq.., Federal Defenders Association of Philadelphia's Capital Habeas Unit    
  • 2010 Jameel Jaffer, Esq., Deputy Director - The American Civil Liberties Union    
  • 2009 Robin G. Steinberg, Executive Director – The Bronx Defenders   
  • 2008 Wade Henderson, President and CEO of the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights and Counselor to the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights Education Fund 
  • 2004 Mark D. Cohen, Deputy Director and Chief Counsel of the New York State Office of Homeland Security 
  • 2004 Cesar Perales, President and General Counsel of the Puerto Rican Legal Defense and Education Fund (PRLDEF)   
  • 2003 Nancy Neveloff Dubler, Director of the Division of Bioethics (Montefiore Medical Center) and Professor of Epidemiology and Social Medicine (Albert Einstein College of Medicine)   
  • 2001 Gay McDougall, Executive Director, The International Human Rights Law Group   
  • 2000 Stephen B. Bright, Director, The Southern Center for Human Rights   
  • 1999 David Leven, Executive Director, Prisoners’ Legal Service of New York   
  • 1998 Daniel L. Greenberg, Director, Legal Aid Society of New York   
  • 1997 Elaine Jones, Director-Counsel, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)   
  • 1996 Janet Benshoof, President, The Center for Reproductive Law & Policy   
  • 1995 Judith L. Lichtman, President, Women’s Legal Defense Fund   
  • 1994 Thomas B. Stoddard, Executive Director, Lambda Legal Defense & Education Fund   
  • 1991 Arthur Kinoy, Executive Director, Center for Constitutional Rights